Lagos Bye-elections: Dabiri-Erewa, Hamzat, Gbadamosi Votes, Card Reader Fails In Ikorodu

Voting commenced peacefully on Saturday in the Lagos East Senatorial and Kosofe Constituency 2 bye-elections amidst low voter turnout in the affected five local government areas of the state.

The Deputy Governor of Lagos State, Obafemi Hamzat has cast his vote in the ongoing Lagos-East bye-election.

He cast his ballot at Ward 4 Unit 002 at Oke-Balogun Central Mosque, Epe around 10 am.

After voting, he commended the peaceful conduct of voters at his unit.

The deputy governor appealed that such peaceful conduct should be replicated in other areas.

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party in the Lagos East Senatorial bye-election, Babatunde Gbadamosi, voted around 10.50 am at polling unit 14, Isele ward 1, Ikorodu.

He complained about the low voter turnout, saying that the Independent National Electoral Commission failed to properly educate voters.

Gbadamosi said the process has been peaceful so far.

Our correspondent gathered that card reader failed at Polling Unit 009 Agbala village in Ikorodu Local Government Area.

Also, the Chairman of the Nigerians in Diaspora Commission, Abike Dabiri-Erewa, cast her vote about 11:40 am at ward 51 Ayangburen, Isele Ward 1 Unit 12 Ayangburin Street, Ikorodu, Lagos.

The Majority Leader, Lagos State House of Assembly, Sanai Agunbiade, said INEC has significantly improved in the conduct of elections in the country.

“People are exercising their franchise peacefully and people are obeying Social distance while voting,” the Lagos lawmaker told newsmen after casting his vote at polling unit 043 at Grammar School, Aga/Ijomu area of Ikorodu.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button