Rest of the World

List Of Nobel Peace Prize Winners: All Laureates Since 1901

Winning the Nobel Peace Prize is up there as one of life’s greatest achievements, and since the award was first handed out in 1901, some of the world’s most powerful individuals have got their hands on the illustrious medal.

Here we name all of the winners of the Nobel Peace Prize, starting with Switzerland’s Henri Dunant and France’s Frederic Passy until this year’s winners, Russia’s Dmitry Muratov and the Philippines’ Maria Ressa.

1901 Henri Dunant (Switzerland) and Frederic Passy (France)

1902 Elie Ducommun (Switzerland) and Charles-Albert Gobat (Switzerland)

1903 Sir Randal Cremer (United Kingdom)

1904 Institute of International Law (founded 1873)

1905 Bertha, baroness von Suttner (Austria-Hungary)

1906 Theodore Roosevelt (USA)

1907 Ernesto Teodoro Moneta (Italy) and Louis Renault (France)

1908 Klas Pontus Arnoldson (Sweden) and Fredrik Bajer (Denmark)

1909 Auguste-Marie-François Beernaert (Belgium) and Paul-H.-B. d’Estournelles de Constant (France)

1910 International Peace Bureau (founded 1891)

1911 Tobias Michael Carel Asser (Netherlands) and Alfred Hermann Fried (Austria-Hungary)

1912 Elihu Root (USA)

1913 Henri-Marie Lafontaine (Belgium)

1917 International Committee of the Red Cross (founded 1863)

1919 Woodrow Wilson (USA)

1920 Leon Bourgeois (France)

1921 Karl Hjalmar Branting (Sweden) and Christian Lous Lange (Norway)

1922 Fridtjof Nansen (Norway)

1925 Sir Austen Chamberlain (United Kingdom) and Charles G. Dawes (USA)

1926 Aristide Briand (France) and Gustav Stresemann (Germany)

1927 Ferdinand-Edouard Buisson (France) and Ludwig Quidde (Germany)

1929 Frank B. Kellogg (USA)

1930 Nathan Soderblom (Sweden)

1931 Jane Addams (USA) and Nicholas Murray Butler (USA)

1933 Sir Norman Angell (United Kingdom)

1934 Arthur Henderson (United Kingdom)

1935 Carl von Ossietzky (Germany)

1936 Carlos Saavedra Lamas (Argentina)

1937 Robert Gascoyne-Cecil, 1st Viscount Cecil (United Kingdom)

1938 Nansen International Office for Refugees (founded 1931)

1944 International Committee of the Red Cross (founded 1863)

1945 Cordell Hull (USA)

1946 Emily Greene Balch (USA) and John R. Mott (USA)

1947 American Friends Service Committee (USA) and Friends Service Council (FSC, United Kingdom)

1949 John Boyd Orr, Baron Boyd-Orr of Brechin Mearns (United Kingdom)

1950 Ralph Bunche (USA)

1951 Leon Jouhaux (France)

1952 Albert Schweitzer (Alsace)

1953 George C. Marshall (USA)

1954 Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (founded 1951)

1957 Lester B. Pearson (Canada)

1958 Dominique Pire (Belgium)

1959 Philip John Noel-Baker, Baron Noel-Baker (United Kingdom)

1960 Albert John Luthuli (South Africa)

1961 Dag Hammarskjold (Sweden)

1962 Linus Pauling (USA)

1963 International Committee of the Red Cross (founded 1863) and League of Red Cross Societies (founded 1919)

1964 Martin Luther King, Jr. (USA)

1965 United Nations Children’s Fund (founded 1946)

1968 Rene Cassin (France)

1969 International Labour Organisation (founded 1919)

1970 Norman Ernest Borlaug (USA)

1971 Willy Brandt (West Germany)

1973 Henry Kissinger (USA) and Le Duc Tho (award declined, North Vietnam)

1974 Sean MacBride (Ireland) and Sato Eisaku (Japan)

1975 Andrey Dmitriyevich Sakharov (U.S.S.R.)

1976 Mairead Corrigan (Northern Ireland) and Betty Williams (Northern Ireland)

1977 Amnesty International (founded 1961)

1978 Menachem Begin (Israel) and Anwar el-Sadat (Egypt)

1979 Mother Teresa (India)

1980 Adolfo Perez Esquivel (Argentina)

1981 Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (founded 1951)

1982 Alfonso Garcia Robles (Mexico) and Alva Myrdal (Sweden)

1983 Lech Walesa (Poland)

1984 Desmond Tutu (South Africa)

1985 International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (founded 1980)

1986 Elie Wiesel (USA)

1987 Oscar Arias Sanchez (Costa Rica)

1988 United Nations Peacekeeping Forces

1989 Dalai Lama (Tibet)

1990 Mikhail Gorbachev (U.S.S.R.)

1991 Aung San Suu Kyi (Myanmar)

1992 Rigoberta Menchu (Guatemala)

1993 F.W. de Klerk (South Africa) and Nelson Mandela (South Africa)

1994 Yasser Arafat (Palestinian), Shimon Peres (Israel) and Yitzhak Rabin (Israel)

1995 Pugwash Conferences (founded 1957) and Joseph Rotblat (United Kingdom)

1996 Carlos Filipe Ximenes Belo (East Timor) and Jose Ramos-Horta (East Timor)

1997 International Campaign to Ban Landmines (founded 1992) and Jody Williams (USA)

1998 John Hume (Northern Ireland) and David Trimble (Northern Ireland)

1999 Doctors Without Borders (founded 1971)

2000 Kim Dae-Jung (South Korea)

2001 United Nations (founded 1945) and Kofi Annan (Ghana)

2002 Jimmy Carter (USA)

2003 Shirin Ebadi (Iran)

2004 Wangari Maathai (Kenya)

2005 Mohamed ElBaradei (Egypt) and International Atomic Energy Agency (founded 1957)

2006 Grameen Bank (founded 1976) and Muhammad Yunus (Bangladesh)

2007 Al Gore (USA) and Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (founded 1988)

2008 Martti Ahtisaari (Finland)

2009 Barack Obama (USA)

2010 Liu Xiaobo (China)

2011 Leymah Gbowee (Liberia), Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (Liberia) and Tawakkul Karman (Yemen)

2012 European Union (founded 1993)

2013 Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (founded 1997)

2014 Kailash Satyarthi (India) and Malala Yousafzai (Pakistan)

2015 National Dialogue Quartet (founded 2013)

2016 Juan Manuel Santos (Colombia)

2017 International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (founded 2007)

2018 Denis Mukwege (Democratic Republic of the Congo) and Nadia Murad (Iraq)

2019 Abiy Ahmed (Ethiopia)

2020 World Food Programme (founded 1961)

2021 Dmitry Muratov (Russia) and Maria Ressa (Philippines)

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!