Barcelona Thrash Chelsea To Win First Women’s Champions League Title

Barcelona have become the first Spanish club to win the Women’s Champions League after an emphatic 4-0 win over Chelsea in the final in Gothenburg.

It took just 30 seconds for Lluis Cortes’ side to go ahead, with Fran Kirby unfortunate to see her clearance ricochet off Melanie Leupolz and float into the net.

Around 10 minutes later, Barcelona were awarded a penalty when Riem Hussein’s trailing leg caught Jenni Hermoso in the area.

Alexia Putellas kept her cool to convert from the spot to double the Blaugrana’s advantage so early on in the final.

It wasn’t long before Barcelona netted a third, with Aitana Bonmati sliding the ball past Ann-Katrin Berger at the second attempt.

Chelsea’s misery was compounded before the break, conceding a fourth goal when Caroline Graham Hansen tapped in from Lieke Martens’ cut-back.

Emma Hayes’ team were unable to mount what would have been a sensational comeback in the second half, succumbing to defeat in their first Champions League final.

They suffer the same fate as Barcelona, beaten 4-1 by Lyon in their first final in the competition in 2019. This time, though, Cortes’ side make history as the first Spanish winners of the Women’s Champions League.

Their continental success goes alongside their dominant domestic campaign, yet to drop points as champions of Liga Iberdrola.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!